Risky Business…

What is more risky, buying an expensive wine from a well know, high-end label or buying a few inexpensive wines ($7-$15 range) from lesser known or larger quantity producers?

I recently found myself wondering this after a disappointment while tasting a $35 bottle of California red from a very well know and usually very good producer.  Sure this could have been an off bottle, but I did not detect any of the common characteristics of a corked or poorly stored/transported wine.  I think my experience was simply an example of a so-so wine being marketed at a high price because of name recognition.

Sure this is risky for the producer because their very name and reputation is at stake with each bottle.  Perhaps they are still willing to chance it in hopes consumers will convince themselves that the wine is good?

What about less expensive wines?  I love to scan the shelves for unfamiliar label or varietals in hopes of finding my next “house wine“.  For me this is exciting.  Almost like traveling to distant wine regions without leaving crummy NJ!

Of course, most of the time these wines will not transport your taste buds to that magical place that a Petrus or Quintessa will take you.  However, most of us can’t buy those wines anyway!

More times than not I am pleasantly surprised with what I find.  Years ago this was not the case.  Cheap wine usually meant bad wine.  In today’s market we are blessed with a highly competitive market with wines from many regions around the globe.  We also have new technologies like packaging (boxed wine & lighter bottles) that shave the costs even more.

So, what is more risky?  Do you personally go with one big named, high-priced “trophy” wine in hopes of experiencing flavorful bliss?  Perhaps you like to spread the risk across a broad selection of less expensive wines?  Tell me, I want to know!

About DIY Backyard Farmer

On a mission to help the current generation get back in touch with food. Anyone can grow their own edible, organic vegetables, herbs, fruits and more...right in their own yards! They in turn can open up a whole new world to their kids and grandkids by teaching them the wonders of Mother Nature and all she has to offer. This website is owned and operated by Backyard Enterprises LLC. View all posts by DIY Backyard Farmer

2 responses to “Risky Business…

  • Ediamondnj1

    Good question, as we have all haD this happen at one time or another.

    1) I would try returning the bottle to the store where I bought it, in all likelihood if you are a good customer, they should take it back Andnprovide credit for something else.

    2) Lately. I personally, am not satisfied with too much of whAt I have been tasting. Maybe, it’s just me, but often wines have been “flabby”, no complexity etc…even past favorites lately have just not rang my bell.

    It could be that I have become too much of a “wine snob”, I hope not or maybe, it is just the 2008-2009 vintage?…if anyone else has experienced this, please post a comment and let me know. Just as a FYI, I find a Meritage, most satisfying although, more expensive.

    • talkingwine

      Ediamondnj1,

      I agree and once in a while I will bring a bottle back. I even did this with a craft beer I bought recently. The beer tasted like sewer water and I just could not justify paying for it. They took it back, but told me they usually do not take back beer.

      Also, I know what you are saying about flabby wines. Unfortunately, the wine industry has figured out that the masses in America tend to prefer fruit bombs that are lower in tannin. So, there a lot fo off balance wines out there that tend to taste more like a fruit preserve than a wine. I have even found this at higher price points. I suggest looking at wines like Bogel, Columbia Crest 2 Vines, or Columbia Crest Grand Estates. These are all usually under $12 and retain offer enough complexity to keep you from gulping it up like Gatorade.

      Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

